C I V I L    M A R R I A G E    I S    A    C I V I L    R I G H T.

A N D N O W I T ' S T H E L A W O F T H E L A N D.


Thursday, October 11, 2012

The Cross in the Closet


Just in time for National Coming Out Day, straight dude Timothy Kurek has written a book that describes his experience as a straight man pretending to be gay for a year. From his website:

Timothy Kurek, raised within the confines of a strict, conservative Christian denomination in the Bible Belt, Nashville, Tennessee, was taught the gospel of separation from a young age. But it wasn’t long before Timothy’s path and the outside world converged when a friend came out as a lesbian, and revealed she had been excommunicated by her family.

Distraught and overcome with questions and doubts about his religious upbringing, Timothy decided the only way to empathize and understand her pain was to walk in the shoes of very people he had been taught to shun. He decided to come out as a gay man to everyone in his life, and to see for himself how the label of gay would impact his life.

In the tradition of Black Like Me, The Cross in the Closet is a story about people, a story about faith, and about one man’s “abominable” quest to find Jesus in the margins.

Here's the trailer for the book:



Also, Thomas Roberts of MSNBC did an interview with Kurek:

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

The book is available via Kurek's website and on Amazon in paper and various electronic formats as well.

4 comments:

Harper's Keeper said...

I look forward to reading it.

Frank said...

Interesting. But my gaydar meter is twitching.

Russ Manley said...

Yes Frank, I too feel there's a bit more to the story than is presented here so smoothly.

Davis said...

A must read.

Related Posts with Thumbnails